Tags

, , , , , ,

Photo from thechinesebuffet.com

Centenary Square Clock Tower

Centenary Square Clock Tower

The Chinese Buffet at the Centenary Square is the best buffet restaurant in Bradford. However, the name is misleading. This is not really an authentic or traditional Chinese restaurant because they serve many kinds of Asian dishes (the desserts are not Asian!). I am not really a fan of Chinese cuisine so having these variety of choices make it one of the best to eat out. I had been craving for these kinds of dishes for months! I can’t cook so just seeing these foods  is a heavenly sight for me.

Let start with the location. It’s a great area overlooking the centenary square in Bradford where you can see the landmark bell or clock tower and the mirror pool with the gush of the water fountain. The second floor dining area is a perfect view point.

Interior

Interior

The interior design is contemporary incorporating Chinese lanterns and portraits into its clean and elegant interior with glass walls.  The prominent white color creates a wide-expansive space in contrast with the red hanging lanterns without the overwhelming effect of stepping into a very different world. I like the sleek, stylish overall effect.

In terms of service, I must say that the reception guy is cool who has this big smile and welcoming voice. The staffs are somewhat nice and accommodating but they can do a lot better. They are very quick to remove your plates and I’d understand if people would find it annoying because they are like ninjas grabbing your dirty plates and utensils out of nowhere. I like my table clean so that’s a plus point. Besides, you can always say no.

Desserts

Desserts

Cake overload

Cake overload

Fruit area

Fruit area

Main dishes

Main dishes

Main dishes

Main dishes

Crunchies

Crunchies

The price is overwhelming worth it! They have wide selection of Asian dishes – Indian, Hong Kong, Chinese and others! However, the taste is somewhat bland, it lacks the right flavor for Asian palates. But the menu price is cheap anyway. The price makes it up for it. The drinks are not inclusive with the £8 buffet package so add more on your budget when planning to eat here.

There is chicken overload! Too many kinds of chicken dishes – Sweet and sour, nuggets, toasted, barbecue, curry, fried, chicken in kung po, chicken with mushroom, chicken with mongolian sauce etc. I would recommend their crunchy fried chicken and soft tasty curry.

They have many cuisine selection from appetizers to main dishes, from fruits to more than 20 desserts! Try their mango pudding. I would not recommend their chocolate cake. My friend Ashley loves ice cream and she recommends trying it. Sadly, I didn’t try it because I had too much!

When we were about to leave, the pretty waitress asked how was the experience. I said, best buffet in Bradford. She was quick to reply smugly by saying, “There is only two in Bradford.” She saw my shocked reaction. I said, “No!” My friend added “There’s two more that we know of.” This girl should do more research. Competition is very important. We are business students so listen, if you do not know your enemies, you are doomed at the start. There is Buffet@Bradford, BC Buffet at Quebec Street and Blue Sky Cantonese at Parade Street!

All in all, it is worth eating here! The price is cheap, the food is not that great but you’ve got to try many kinds of dishes  anyway and location is perfect. Try it!

unedited version.

