Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

City Vaults

City Vaults

If you’re looking for a good place to drink and eat offering value for money, then City Vaults Pubhouse is the one.

Available drinks

Available drinks

Its location at 33 Hustler Gate (Bradford, UK) is ideal because it is just few minutes away from the center. You can have a relaxing time on its adjoining patio without being disturbed by noises coming from the crowd or buses.

Upon stepping into it, one thing I notice is that almost all the customers are of middle age. At first, I thought we are the only young people until some few guys on their basketball jerseys came over to have an afternoon beer. One of them is our classmate in Operations and Marketing.

Menu

Menu

They serve a range of drinks – beer, wine, ale, soft drinks and coffee. If you are a fruit juice junkie, this place is not for you. They only have an orange juice! Actually, they do not generally serve it because they use it to mix drinks. Oh well, pubs are known for beers!

Interior

Interior

The ambience inside is laid-back, almost calming. Maybe because of the jazz music being played or the transparent yellow lamps dangling on the multi-colored ceiling. Very relaxing. It refreshingly gives out a cozy feeling. Just what I like while enjoying my meal.

Menu

Menu

Looking at the menu, the meal prices are very reasonable, cheap even. The Turf Pubhouse has a similar format but it is more expensive. I even mumbled loudly, “Oh, it’s cheap!” I was expecting higher prices because it is at the City center.

I was thinking to try Braised Steak and Ale Pie but changed to Roast Belly Pork because I just realized the last time I ate pork was 3 months ago! Sometimes, I really can’t believe I am surviving without those things (i.e. foods) that I am usually used to. I usually eat 2 cups of rice per meal (so that’s 2-3 times a day) but most restaurants serve only mashed potato. I had it (beef stew with rice) a month ago in MyThai restaurant few blocks from my flat.

Roast Belly Pork

Roast Belly Pork

Chili Con Carne

Chili Con Carne

Orange Juice

Orange Juice

The Roast Belly Pork soaked in honey and mustard is tasty. The crackling (pork’s fatty skin) is very crunchy, tender and crispy but the mashed potato is too watery.  I prefer the traditional gravy sauce for the pork rather than the red wine. My friend had Chili Con Carne with chips and a glass of orange juice. The Chili Con is a little bit spicy with a distinct acid taste while the juice is freshly squeezed without pulp leftovers. We didn’t try their main drinks though. If you have a sophisticated palate, then the food will not be appealing to you. But if you want to enjoy a traditional and home-cooked British menu, then it’s good.

Very British design patterns of the Burgundy wallpaper

Very British design patterns of the burgundy wallpaper

I think we overstayed because of our two hour-chat about random things but still, the staffs are really friendly. I must add that the art and wall decors are really fancy – from framed pictures of some gangsters to the glossy burgundy-like wallpaper. It has  intricate very British design style and patterns.

All in all, City Vaults is worth popping by but not exactly a place that you’d lookout for.

Side Note: Pub is short for Public house generally referring to a drinking establishment. It is traced back to classic taverns. 

Bonus photo of the day: 

It's summer!

It’s summer!

